ss linux utility

GEEKS !!

Here is a real good utility to investigate sockets and connections on your Linux Server. You must have used netstat like commands during your RHCE Training or RHCSS Training.

Please welcome “ss” – utility to investigate sockets.

Its used to dump socket statistics. It allows showing information similar to netstat. It can display more TCP and state informations than other tools.

Its available readily under ubuntu and rhel environment.

As per man pages of ss, here are some very interesting options available for ss.

Like I can use this to check who has established “ssh” connection on my server –

ss -o state established ‘( dport = :ssh or sport = :ssh )’

I can have a summary of statistics using –

ss -s 

Or I can have a listing of all the listening ports using

ss -l

Here is a illustration from my machine.

Do give it a try. 🙂

ss linux utility

ss linux utility

