Using rsync with -u option

Lets continue with your RHCE Training topic.

Consider a typical sync situation in a company.

You are doing sync of your local file to a remote server using rsync command. Now if a file is modified at the remote server, which you don’t know and for good reasons you never (or might not) wants to overwrite the new modified file with the old file at your end.

Always play safe.

Use rsync -u option. Using this option will not allow rsync to overwrite a file at the destination, if it is modified.

Here is a illustrated example to show you the benefit of using -u option with rsync in a production environment, from my machine.

“Like” = This might save your day, someday

Connect us Network NUTS Facebook Page.

Using rsync with -u option

Using rsync with -u option

Advertisements